Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Tadcaster Albion AFC app


Tadcaster Albion - Match centre

Tadcaster Albion AFC
Ossett United
Full time
J Vann (4'), N Boshell (53', 60'), L Mbeka (54'), T Corner (64')
Tue 6 Nov 19:45 - Cup Attendance 167

REPORT | Taddy Exit County Cup After Heavy Defeat


Tadcaster Albion crashed out of the West Riding County Cup on Tuesday night to the hands of Ossett United.

Four goals in an eleven minute spell saw Ossett run riot over Taddy and advance into the Quarter-Finals.

Simon Collins used the cup tie as a chance to rotate his side making five changes to Saturday’s draw with AFC Mansfield handing starts to Joe Lumsden, Aaron Hardy, Josh Barrett, Jason Mycoe and Lamin Colley.

The Brewers found themselves a goal behind inside the opening five minutes for the second time in four days as Jack Vann, who had a brief spell with Albion at the start of the season, drove into the far corner from right hand-side of the area.

It was a deserved lead for the visitors who started the cup tie on the front foot with a sense of purpose. Taddy regained some control after the ten minute mark and started to play their possession-based style of play without creating anything in the final third. Casey Stewart did almost have a great chance to equalise after Colley slid a through ball in behind but Chris Chantler recovered to get a crucial touch.

Michael Ingham was certainly the busier of the two goalkeepers with the Northern Irishman having to carefully watch Adam Porritt’s well-struck shot from distance.

Things could have got even worse for Tadcaster half-way through the first half as Casey Stewart jumped into former Hyde defender James Burke after the ball had gone and was perhaps lucky to only escape with a caution.

With the temperature rising just like when the two sides met back in September, it was Ossett who continued to threaten, Ingham called into action once more to deny Adam Priestley. The Brewers may have been enjoying the majority of possession but it wasn’t in an area which would hurt their opponents and as a result Ossett were more than happy to let them have it.

James Burke, who thankfully made a quick recovery from the earlier incident, almost caught Ingham out with a fiercely struck free-kick from range but Taddy’s number one claimed at the second attempt. All of the previously mentioned saves were routine for someone of Ingham’s calibre but four minutes from the break he made a very good stop to thwart Gibraltan International Priestley from close range.

It took Taddy 44 minutes to carve out their first chance of the night as Casey Stewart cleverly anticipated and intercepted a pass before setting Joe Lumsden striding forward only to see his strike well saved by Brett Souter.

Into the second half and Ossett should have doubled their five minutes in when Lebrun Mbeka headed over from five yards out when it looked easier to score.

However, the Tadcaster capitulation began on 53 minutes sealing their exit out of the competition as the visitors found the net four times in a rampant 11 minute spell. Apart from the needless foul made by Colley, there was to be no arguments with United’s second goal as Nicky Boshell beautifully bent a free-kick into the top corner with his left-foot.

Taddy were struck with a misery compiler less than a minute later as Lebrun Mbeka blasted past Ingham from the edge of the penalty area to effectively kill the game off and the contest as a whole. It wasn’t to improve for the home side as a fourth was added six minutes later, Boshell notching his second of the night clipping into the far corner with his precise left-foot.

There was further embarrassment for the Brewers to endure as a fifth goal arrived on 64 minutes. Former Taddy front man Tom Corner outmanoeuvred Josh Barrett in the box before driving low into the bottom corner.

Albion were being well beaten and showing no life or will-to-win whatsoever as in the end Ossett strolled to victory.

Even when Ossett goalkeeper Souter was called into action late on, he was determined to keep his clean sheet intact making two impressive stops to keep out Joe Lumsden and Billy Whitehouse.

Full-Time: Tadcaster Albion 0-5 Ossett United

Tadcaster: Ingham©, Hardy, Walters, Rose (Roper 61), Barrett, Mycoe, Stewart (Whitehouse 61), Davidson, Lumsden, Howarth, Colley (Savory 76)
Unused: Miller, Barkworth

Ossett: Souter, Porritt, Burke, McQuade©, Wilkinson, Vann, Priestley, Mbeka, Corner (Day 74), Boshell (Jones 65), Chantler (Hardaker 63)
Unused: Basic, Emerson

Key moments

Goal Jack Vann scores for Ossett United
Goal Nick Boshell scores for Ossett United
Goal Lebrun Mbeka scores for Ossett United
Goal Nick Boshell scores for Ossett United
Goal Tom Corner scores for Ossett United


View 0 new events
76:00 Sub Off
Lamin Colley is substituted off for Tadcaster Albion AFC
76:00 Sub On
Aiden Savory is substituted on for Tadcaster Albion AFC
64:00 Goal 0 - 5
Tom Corner scores for Ossett United
61:00 Sub Off
Jake Rose is substituted off for Tadcaster Albion AFC
61:00 Sub Off
Casey Stewart is substituted off for Tadcaster Albion AFC
61:00 Sub On
Corey Roper is substituted on for Tadcaster Albion AFC
61:00 Sub On
Billy Whitehouse is substituted on for Tadcaster Albion AFC
60:00 Goal 0 - 4
Nick Boshell scores for Ossett United
54:00 Goal 0 - 3
Lebrun Mbeka scores for Ossett United
53:00 Goal 0 - 2
Nick Boshell scores for Ossett United
End of period 1
4:00 Goal 0 - 1
Jack Vann scores for Ossett United
Start of the game
Replay game

As it happened

  • Tadcaster Albion AFC
  • Ossett United
  • 0
  • Jack Vann Goal 4:00'
  • Nick Boshell Goal 53:00'
  • Lebrun Mbeka Goal 54:00'
  • Nick Boshell Goal 60:00'
  • Jake Rose Sub Off 61:00'
  • Casey Stewart Sub Off 61:00'
  • Corey Roper Sub On 61:00'
  • Billy Whitehouse Sub On 61:00'
  • Tom Corner Goal 64:00'
  • Lamin Colley Sub Off 76:00'
  • Aiden Savory Sub On 76:00'

Team selection

Ossett United
  • 1. Brett Souter
  • 2. Adam Porritt
  • 3. James Burke
  • 4. Alex McQuade
  • 5. Joe Wilkinson
  • 6. Jack Vann
  • 7. Adam Priestley
  • 8. Lebrun Mbeka
  • 9. Tom Corner
  • 10. Nick Boshell
  • 11. Chris Chantler
  • 12. Karl Jones
  • 13. Brad Emerson
  • 14. Marcus Day
  • 15. Ross Hardaker
  • 16. Marko Basic

Team sponsors


Club sponsors